Poetry

Colors, We Choose To See

I walked on a path that was dusty
It was hot, even the soil was crusty
Dirty, yet the path was beautiful
I didn’t notice, though, my mind was full

A million colors, on my way
Names of most I couldn’t say
But to my eyes, it was gray
For my thoughts were in a fray

I was given a choice, much too many times
But I chose the dark lanes, seeing the wrong signs
I could have chosen the path that was bright
Where you could hear giggles and a flying kite

In the dark lane, I met a passerby
A scared first timer, she looked for an ally
Experienced I, took her side
We passed by where many died

She was weird though, she wanted a change
For brighter paths, she looked for in range
I didn’t understand what she meant
Everything was the same wherever I went

We entered the path she chose, so bright,
A million colors and so much light!
The colors that were always there, I could now see
All this beauty, will it always be?

“Yes, it always will, just open your mind, you’ll see!
You always choose where you want to be
But be conscious, it’s easy to be drawn to the other side
Sometimes you have to fight the force of the tide”

Now, I walked on a path that was dusty
It was hot, even the soil was crusty
Dirty, yet the path was beautiful
Amazed, I looked all around me, heartful.

The picture I wanted to paint!

9 thoughts on “Colors, We Choose To See

Leave a comment